GoUltraStu – Dunoon ultra.

So part way through training for the 2016 Belfast City marathon I entered the inaugural Dunoon ultra which meant my first marathon became part of the training for my first ultra! I know, I’m rolling my eyes just reading that back to myself. Illusions of grandeur or what?

Screenshot_2016-08-20-21-41-23.png

After recovering from the marathon I got down to training for the event in October, 4 months on top of the base training I had done so far, seemed achievable. I had been drawn to trail running through a combination of missing the hill’s around Loch Lomand & the Trossachs and watching YouTube channels like the Ginger runner. So thought why not, what’s the worst that could happen?

Training went well and I felt relaxed with the A goal of just finishing instead of going for a specific time. I used Saturday to do my long run often incorporating parkrun. Four training runs per week served me well for the marathon so I used the same strategy for Dunoon.

  • Monday – recovery run, around 4 miles.
  • Wednesday – tempo run, 6 miles.
  • Thursday – hill repeats.
  • Saturday – long run, often incorporating a fast finish at parkrun.

Rather than a review of training I want to review the event. So here goes.

A cannon shot to start and we’re off. A couple of nervous miles then enter Pucks Glen, one word – awesome! The pace was slows as path is narrow and goes up for almost a mile but that allowed me to take in the surroundings. If this is ultra running I’m hooked, beats crowded city street’s anytime.

IMG_20161010_115508.jpg

I tried to keep a decent pace, ran when I could & walked when too steep. Plenty of photo opportunities and tried to remember to eat. I was at the event alone but everyone was so friendly, from the volunteers through to runners so I didn’t feel alone at all. The checkpoints were well organised and volunteers really helpful, one offered to refill my water bladder with Tailwind while I used the portaloo.

The miles ticked by and the weather was kind, overcast but dry and not too warm, for October it could’ve been worse. The route goes along the high road along loch Eck, makes it way down to the shore and back along the low road.

IMG_20161008_221808.jpg

A check of the watch and I’d just past the marathon distance, feeling ok. I’d done Highland Perthshire marathon in the September so from here on in it was all new territory, so to speak!

All the motivational posts and quote’s I’d read was going through my mind: “only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go” T.S. Eliot and “the miracle isn’t that I finished, the miracle is that I had the courage to start” John Bingham.

But the simple mantra of “run the mile you’re in” served me just fine. That is until I started to get cramp! Not just in one muscle though, it was moving around and making me move like an extra in the Monty Python ministry of silly walks sketch. A helpful marshal suggested I have some crisps for the salt but my mouth was so dry I couldn’t face that. This was probably a sign that a) I was trying to go too far too soon, and b) my nutrition was way off the mark. I’ll admit it I’ve still got a lot to learn.

The next few mile’s went mostly up and takes you back to Dunoon and a welcome view from above the town filled me with the possibility of running again. The downhill into Dunoon allowed me to start running again and I suppose it could’ve been described as running by some generous commentators. But by the time I entered the town I actually could run and made an attempt to give it my all to make it across the finish line on the pier,completed the 34 miles in 7:14:49 with an elevation gain of 3,370 (ft). Officially now an ultra runner.

IMG_20161010_184256.jpg

So there you have it….but that’s not the whole story. After the finish I collected my bling, took my bag and took advantage of the local hotel that had offered runner’s the use of a room to shower. I just had time to make the final ferry where I had an encounter with Kirsten Cowling. We had a pleasant chat and she said that Dunoon had been tougher than the Fling! It just so happened that the Highland Fling was opening the next day. So you guessed it, I entered the ballot….IMG_20161008_222518.jpg

 

I’ll not reveal what happened next, you’ll just have to wait!

Leave a comment